(Poster submission has been extended to July 1, 2018.  There will be awards given at the end of the poster session)


NASA TOUR - July 26, 2018
(only 100 spots available)






July 24 - 26, 2018                                from 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM EST
Add to Calendar 


 DoubleTree by Hilton                           1100 Crocker Road                     Westlake, OH  44145

Driving Directions





DoubleTree by Hilton
1100 Crocker Road
Westlake, OH 44145
                                 440.871.6000                                      Rate: $104 + tax

CLICK HERE to reserve a room and get your accommodations at a discount rate.












Howard Thompson  (general)                 Ohio Aerospace Institute  440.962.3237                   howardthompson@oai.org

Mary Roberts (registration)                  Ohio Aerospace Institute       440.962.3025             maryroberts@oai.org

Dionne Hernandez-Lugo (sponsors)  NASA Glenn Research Center 216.433.5911                              dionne.m.hernandez-lugo-1@nasa.gov


JULY 24 - 26, 2018



Special Guest Speaker
Dr. Janet Kavandi


GRC Center Director and NASA Astronaut veteran of three space flights, serving as a mission specialist on STS-91 in 1998, STS-99 in 2000, and STS-104 in 2001.  Dr. Kavandi has logged more than 33 days in space, traveling more than 13.1 million miles in 535 Earth orbits.
  The 11th symposium on Energy Storage Beyond Li-Ion will be hosted by NASA Glenn Research Center and the Ohio Aerospace Institute on July 24 - 26, 2018 at the Double Tree by Hilton in Westlake, OH. This meeting is one in a successive series of symposiums organized by a consortium of U.S. National Laboratories including Argonne, Lawrence Berkeley, Pacific Northwest, Oak Ridge and National Renewable, IBM Research and NASA Glenn Research Center.

This year’s special guest speaker is Dr. Janet Kavandi, Director of NASA Glenn Research Center and veteran astronaut with three space flights, serving as a mission specialist on STS-91 in 1998, STS-99 in 2000, and STS-104 in 2001.  Dr. Kavandi has logged more than 33 days in space, traveling more than 13.1 million miles in 535 Earth orbits.

This is a unique forum where we will explore the role of energy storage on IoT (Internet of Things) and the future of energy storage technologies for transportation in the ground and in the air. The main themes are (i) reviewing groundbreaking technical progress, (ii) exploring future directions, and (iii) understanding critical challenges impeding progress. Leading researchers and manufacturers will discuss critically necessary materials, diagnostics, scaling, and manufacturing issues associated with better performing energy storage devices. Through this open-format dialogue, the organizers aim to accelerate innovation, reduce costs, and improve the safety of advanced, electrochemical energy storage concepts and systems “beyond lithium ion".

The Early Bird Registration for BLI-XI is only $350.00 and includes everything outline in the agenda including dinner aboard the Goodtime III.  

The program includes tours of NASA Glenn Research Center Facilities.

 Submit your Poster Abstract by June 1st 2018 to blixprogramcommittee@gmail.com

 Keynote Speakers:
Dr. Sanjiv Malhotra, Director of the Energy Investor Center (EIC), Office of Technology Transitions at DOE
Dr. Ajay Misra, Deputy Director, Research and Engineering Directorate, NASA Glenn Research Center

Session Speakers:
Session II: Emerging Opportunities for Non-Lithium Metal Anodes

Juchen Guo, University of California - Riverside
Patrick Howlett, Deakin University
Huilin Pan, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Yiying Wu, Ohio State University

Session III: Recent Development in Lithium Metal Anode
Jun-Tao Li, Xiamen University
Jun Liu, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Jun Lu, Argonne National Laboratory
Young-Hye Na, IBM
Visas G. Pol, Purdue University

Session IV: Material and Cell Design for Microbatteries
Sang Bok Lee, University of Maryland
Naoki Matsumura, Intel Corporation
James Pikul, University of Pennsylvania

Session V: New Frontiers of Metal Anode Batteries: Lithium-02, Organic Redox Batteries
Yi Lin, NASA Langley Research Center
David Mitlin, Clarkson University
Xiaoliang Wei, Indiana University/Purdue University
Thomas Zawodzinski, Oak Ridge National Laboratory/University of Tennessee

Session VI: Interfacial Stability of Li Metal Solid Electrolyte
Perla Balbuena, Texas A&M University
Bin Li, Wildcat Discovery Technologies
James Wu, NASA Glenn Research Center

Session VII: Enabling Diagnostics for Electrochemical Storage Systems
Steve DeCaluwe, Colorado School of Mines
Steven Greenbaum, City University of New York
Shi-Gang Sun, Xiamen University

Session VIII: Batteries for Electrified Aircrafts
Dionne Hernandez-Lugo, NASA Glenn Research Center
Patricia Loyselle, NASA Glenn Research Center
Brien Seeley, Sustainability Aviation

Session IX: New Battery Architectures, Design and Manufacturing
Paul Braun, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Amy Prieto, Colorado State University
David Wood, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Session X: Commercialization of Beyond Lithium-ion Technologies
Mei Cai, General Motors
Zhongwei Chen, University of Waterloo
Brianne DeMattia, NASA Glenn Research Center
Ionel Stefan, Amprius, Inc.
Gary Yang, UniEnergy Technologies

EARLY REGISTRATION ENDS JULY 1st!  Registration includes:  (1) Conference participation (2) Meeting materials (3) Breakfast and lunch (4) Morning and afternoon refreshments (5) Evening receptions and (6) Special dinner excursion on the second evening on the Goodtimes III.

Please note the food and beverage provided during the poster session is being paid with sponsorship money received and is not included in the registration fee.

Early registration fee is $350. 

 For questions regarding registration or payments, please contact Mary Roberts at maryroberts@oai.org  or Howard Thompson at howardthompson@oai.org.

 If you are interested in becoming a sponsor, or for information on topics and speakers, please send an email to: dionne.m.hernandez-lugo-1@nasa.gov.