Tuesday, May 7, 2019 from 6:00 PM to 8:30 PM EDT
Add to Calendar


Deerfield Golf Club 
507 Thompson Station Road
Newark, DE 19711

Driving Directions 


Timothy E. Gibbs, MPH 
Delaware Academy of Medicine and the Delaware Public Health Association 

Event Sponsorship

For information about sponsorship opportunities, or to build a table of 8 or 10 people, please click here

Proceeds from this event benefit programs of the Academy/DPHA including the Immunization Program.

We invite you to join us for our 89th Annual Meeting, Keynote Address and Awards Ceremony.The Keynote Address will be delivered by David L. Heymann, MD DTM&H CBEDr. Heymann will discuss his career in global health and combating infectious disease. He will focus on the last remaining outposts of polio, and the importance of global polio eradication. 

Dr. Heymann is Head of the Centre on Global Health Security at the UK’s Royal Institute for International Affairs (Chatham House), and Professor of Infectious Disease Epidemiology at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine.

He has served in senior positions in the US CDC and the World Health Organization, including as WHO Assistant Director-General, and as Representative of the Director-General for polio eradication. Dr. Heymann has worked on infectious diseases worldwide, including in the smallpox eradication campaign (India); the Ebola outbreak in then-Zaire in 1978; Legionnaire’s disease (Philadelphia); and leading the global response to SARS.  

He received the Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) in 2009; is a member of the United States National Academy of Medicine and the United Kingdom Academy of Medical Sciences; holds three honorary doctorates; and has received the highest awards from the American Public Health Association and the American Society of Tropical Medicine & Hygiene. He is Editor in Chief of the APHA’s Control of Communicable Disease Manual, the most widely used infectious disease text in the world.  

This year's Lewis B. Flinn's President's Award is being presented to Sherman L. Townsend for his 30 year Chairmanship of the Delaware Institute of Medicine Education and Research.  DIMER has been Delaware's medical school alternative since 1969 with agreements with Sidney Kimmel Medical College of Thomas Jefferson University and the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine - both in Philadelphia, PA.

The Executive Director's Public Health Recognition will be presented to the William J Holloway Community Program (formerly the HIV Program) at Christiana Care Health System which was started in 1989.  This award will be accepted by Susan Szabo, MD and Arlene Bincsik, RN.