COSSA Colloquium 
on Social and Behavioral Science and Public Policy 


Monday November 4, 2013 at 8:30 AM EST
Tuesday November 5, 2013 at 11:30 AM EST

Add to Calendar 


Embassy Row Hotel
2015 Massachusetts Ave, NW
Washington, DC 20036  
(855) 336-2900 

Room reservations for the Embassy Row Hotel can be made by calling (855) 336-2900. Mention COSSA or the Consortium of Social Science Associations for a block rate of $204 per room.
The deadline for the block rate is October 14.

Driving Directions 


Julia Milton
Consortium of Social Science Associations
(202) 842-3525 

The Consortium of Social Science Associations is proud to present its Annual Colloquium on Social and Behavioral Science and Public Policy, to take place on November 4 and 5, 2013.

The theme of the meeting is Societal, Technological, and Scientific Changes. It will feature a talk by Senator Elizabeth Warren and presentations by the new director of the Census Bureau and leaders from the National Science Foundation and National Institutes of Health. Other highlights will include panels on America’s Political Institutions in Trouble, Social Science and the Press, and Changes Regarding Race in America. In addition, there will be a session focusing on How We Live Now, which will address the societal impact of Internet technology as well as new living arrangements. Finally, COSSA’s outgoing Executive Director will reflect on his thirty years of advocating for the social and behavioral sciences.

Please note, the registration deadline is
Wednesday, October 30!

On-site registration will be available, but attendees will be charged an on-site rate of $175. Please note, we cannot accept credit cards on site.

Preliminary Agenda 

Day One (Monday, November 4) 

8:30                  Welcome and Introductions – COSSA President James Jackson

8:45 – 10:00       America’s Political Institutions in Trouble
                                 Congress – Sarah Binder, Brookings Institution
                                 The Presidency – Jeremy Mayer, George Mason University
                                 The Supreme Court – Mark Graber, University of Maryland Law School

10:00 – 10:15     Break

10:15 – 11:15     Challenges for NSF – Acting Director Cora Marrett  

11:15 – 12:15     Challenges for NIH – Deputy Director Lawrence Tabak
                         Responses:   Wendy Baldwin, Population Reference Bureau
                                             James Jackson, Institute for Social Research, University of Michigan

12:30 – 2:00       Luncheon – Changes at Census – Director, John Thompson

2:15 – 3:30         How We Live Now: Societal Changes
                                 Household Changes in the United States – Linda Jacobsen,
                                         Population Reference Bureau
                                 Internet and Social Media – Lee Rainie, Pew Research Center Internet
                                         and American Life Project 
                                 The Aging of the Baby Boomers – Deborah Carr, Rutgers University

3:30 – 3:45         Break

3:45 – 5:00         Changes Regarding Race in America
                                 Moderator – James Jackson, COSSA President
                                 Voting Rights Act – John Garcia, University of Michigan
                                 Affirmative Action –  Margaret Andersen, University of Delaware                                                         Classification – Ken Prewitt, Columbia University

5:00 – 5:30         Hon. Elizabeth Warren, Senator from Massachusetts

5:30 – 7:00         Reception in Honor of Retiring COSSA Executive Director Howard J. Silver


Day Two (Tuesday, November 5)

9:00 – 10:15       The Press and Social Science
                                 Scott Jaschik, Inside Higher Ed
                                 Mike McAuliff, Huffington Post
                                 D’Vera Cohn, Pew Research Center

10:30 – 11:30     Lobbying for Social Science:  A 30 Year Journey
                                 Howard J. Silver, COSSA Executive Director