2013 Annual Meeting Logo


Elena Pitt 
National Alliance for Advanced Technology Batteries 
(312) 588-0477 x2 


Wednesday January 16, 2013 at 1:30 PM CST
Friday January 18, 2013 at 4:45 PM CST

Add to Calendar 


Renaissance Austin Hotel 
9721 Arboretum Boulevard
Austin, TX 78759-6316

Driving Directions

Hotel Reservations

Renaissance Austin Hotel
9721 Arboretum Boulevard
Austin, TX 78759-6316
(512) 343-2626

Renaissance Hotel-Austin


The Renaissance Austin Hotel, a luxury property located in the scenic Hill Country of Texas, will be the site of the 2013 NAATBatt Annual Meeting and Symposium.  NAATBatt has arranged for a block of rooms to be made available to program attendees at the special rate of $149 per night.  To make a reservation, or for more information about the hotel, click on the button below.  But act quickly, as rooms are limited.

                                  Renaissance Hotel-Austin logo


Welcome BBQ Dinner

7:00 p.m., Wednesday, January 16
County Line On The Hill
6500 Bee Cave Road
Austin, TX
(512) 327-1742

County Line Restaurant-Austin-Sign

On Wednesday, January 16, NAATBatt will host all NAATBatt Members, sponsors, speakers and Symposium attendees to a special Welcome BBQ Dinner at what many believe to be the best barbeque restaurant in Austin: County Line on the Hill.  Kick back with your industry colleagues, grab a Shiner Bock and help yourself to the best BBQ bisket in Texas.  At NAATBatt we take good food seriously.  Strong social ties make for a strong industry.  The cost of the dinner is included in the Symposium registration fee.

Gala Dinner and Lifetime Achievement Award Presentation

7:00 p.m., Thursday, January 17
Renaissance Austin Hotel Ballroom
9721 Arboretum Boulevard
Austin, TX 78759-6316
(512) 343-2626

Renaissance Hotel-Austin-Dining Room

John Goodenough





On Thursday evening, January 17, NAATBatt will host a Gala Dinner in the ball room of the Renaissance  Austin Hotel for all Symposium attendees.  The highlight of the dinner will be the presentation of NAATBatt's first Lifetime Achievement Award to Prof. John Goodenough of the University of Texas at Austin.  Dr. Goodenough is generally credited with inventing the rechargeable lithium-ion battery.  His achievements are an inspiration to everyone working in the advanced battery industry and demonstrate why the United States has been, can be, and will be a world leader in electrochemical energy storage technology.  The cost of the Gala Dinner is included in the Symposium registration fee.


2013 NAATBatt Annual Meeting and Symposium 

Measurement, Management & Control
of Advanced Battery Systems

        Agenda buttonSpeakers buttonSponsors buttonRegister button Hotel info button

The following links are password protected:

    Speakers Presentations button Attendee Contact List  Exhibitors button

                            OVERVIEW OF THE PROGRAM

Battery Testing at ArgonneThe National Alliance for Advanced Technology Batteries (NAATBatt) is the not-for-profit trade association representing the interests of advanced battery manufacturers and their supply chain partners in the United States.  The 2013 NAATBatt Annual Members Meeting and Symposium is our third annual conference.  This year's Symposium will focus on issues related to the battery management systems and various mechanisms for monitoring and controlling the operation of cells within a pack.

Battery PackFor the past several years advances in the electrochemical composition of advanced batteries have garned most of the attention, and much of the investment, in the industry.  It is becoming increasingly clear, however, that some of the key advances that will make battery-powered vehicles attractive to cost-sensitive consumers and electricity storage attractive to cost-sensitive utilities will need to be made, not in the chemical composition of battery cells, but in the efficiency with which a battery system can manage, control and use the battery cells within it, regardless of their chemistry.  It is possible that one day innovations in the designs of battery control systems may one day cheat the limitations of electrochemistry itself and propel advanced battery technology into widespread commercial application.
This year's Symposium will touch on a number of issues of interest to industry relating to developments in battery packs.  More than 40 leading experts will examine:

  • The use of batteries in maritime applications and commercial prospects for the industry in light of this growing market
  • Modeling the performance of individual cells within a battery system
  • Hot topics in battery pack safety
  • The impact of electricity storage on energy trading strategies
  • Issues in aggregating distributed energy storage on the grid
  • What have we learned from DES demonstration projects to date?
  • The confluence of energy storage and information technology
  • What innovation is ARPA-E hoping to encourage in battery systems?
  • A briefing on opportunities for commercial companies to work with JCESR, the new battery hub at Argonne National Laboratory
  • Using storage to buffer distributed generation and EV charging
  • The Industry-Academic Summit:  8 "flash" presentations from top academic researchers about what industry needs to know today about new developments in the battery field.


Please also join your colleagues in honoring Dr. John B. Goodenough, the inventor of the modern, rechargeable lithium-ion battery, who will receive NAATBatt's first Lifetime Achievement Award at the Symposium Gala Dinner on Thursday, January 17.  Help us honor a man whose achievements helped create our industry.

Kilowatt and Dinner SponsorEnerSys logo

Workshop Sponsor

DNV logo

Reception Sponsors

                                         Cincinnati Sub Zero Products                       null   

                                Digitron Firing Circuits                  

                                                                      EaglePicher Technologies (2) 

Supporting Organizations

TESA logoNY-Best logoSAE International logoIESA logo  Maritime Cleantech West logo


                                                Conference Co-Chairs

                                  Imre Gyuk                  Steve Vechy photo
                                      Dr. Imre Gyuk                              Steve Vechy
                               U.S. Department of Energy                    EnerSys

Sponsorship and Exhibitor Packages

Sponsorship and exhibitor packages remain available for the Symposium.  For details contact Elena Pitt at epitt@naatbatt.org or (312) 588-0477 x2.

Anti-Trust Compliance

NAATBatt is a not-for-profit trade association of U.S. advanced battery manufacturers and their supply chain partners.  Participants at all NAATBatt meetings, including the 2013 NAATBatt Annual Meeting and Symposium, must strictly comply with the NAATBatt Anti-Trust Compliance Policy.  A copy of the policy may be viewed and downloaded by clicking here.