Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers 


Thursday January 24, 2013 from 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM EST

Add to Calendar 


This is an online event. 


PDA Webcast - Closed Captioning Challenges for IP Video Delivery: One Deadline Down, More on the Way

Thursday, 24-Jan-13
10:00 AM Pacific/01:00 PM Eastern/6:00 PM UTC

Guest Speaker: Jason Livingston (CPC Closed Captioning, USA)

On 30 September, an FCC regulation came into effect requiring TV broadcasters to implement captions for prerecorded programming that is not edited for Internet distribution. In preparation for the five additional deadlines to come online between now and March 2016, CPC Close Captioning’s Jason Livingston will remind our webcasts participants about the specific deadlines and then he will discuss a number of challenges to implementing captions for video delivered by IP. Mr. Livingston will further discuss best practices for workflows involving CEA-608 and CEA-708 broadcast closed captions data and translation into SMPTE 2052.

Register Now!PDA Now Webcasts are offered each month, FREE of charge to current SMPTE members.

If you are not already a SMPTE member, join today at before registering to attend this event for FREE!

Those that do not wish to become a SMPTE member, may also attend at a charge of $49.

Return to the SMPTE website: