Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers 


Tuesday March 12, 2013 from 1:00 PM to 2:00 PM EDT

Add to Calendar 


This is an online event. 
Login details will be provided with your registration confirmation.

Standards Webcast - Cinema Sound Systems-Raising the Bar Through New Standards

Tuesday, 12 March 2013

10:00 AM Pacific/1:00 PM Eastern/5:00 PM GMT/17:00 UTC

Brian VessaGuest Speaker: Brian Vessa, Executive Director, Digital Audio Mastering, Sony Pictures Entertainment

Movies can sound quite different depending on the theater in which you see the film.  There can also be a great deal of variation between how the movie sounds on the mixing stage and how it sounds in the exhibition theater.  Modern movie soundtracks are very dynamic and exciting, yet the sound systems in cinema theaters often fall short of reproducing them as the creatives intended.  SMPTE has a new standards committee, TC-25CSS, that is working to update the current Standards and Recommended Practices in order to address these issues, raise the bar, and help make movie theaters sound better and more consistent.  Join Brian Vessa, audio guru for Sony Pictures Entertainment, who will explain the challenges in creating top-notch cinema sound systems, the current SMPTE standards, and the work that is being done to update them.  Brian will also touch on the new immersive cinema sound systems that are hitting the market and the additional challenges that they present to the standards process.

Register Now!Standards Webcasts are offered quarterly, FREE of charge!

Return to the SMPTE website: