DC 2013 Header


Monday June 24, 2013 from 6:30 PM to 8:30 PM PDT
Add to Calendar 


Lot 613 
613 Imperial Street
Los Angeles, CA 90021
Driving Directions 


Karla Ruiz 
Los Angeles Education Partnership 
213-622-5237 x 274

2013 Design Challenge Sponsors


Join us for LAEP's 2013 Design Challenge.

Support education and participate as

The Los Angeles Dodgers Foundation presents LAEP's inaugural Helen Bernstein Award for Teacher Leadership to

Terri Ann Sullivan

 and LAEP also honors co-founders

Peggy Funkhouser and David Abel

In 1983, when the report A Nation at Risk chronicled the decline of quality public education, David challenged Peggy to do something. The result was the birth of LAEP in 1984 to help reform public schools in Los Angeles, with Peggy as president/CEO and David as a board member. Peggy and David are influential leaders in education reform and public policy, recognized locally and nationally. Over the decades, they have maintained LAEP at the cutting edge of school transformation and have assisted other nonprofits by serving as board members, directors and advisors. We ask you to join us in honoring their contributions to our community at the Design Challenge.

This year at the Design Challenge LAEP will introduce the Helen Bernstein Award for Teacher Leadership presented by the Los Angeles Dodgers Foundation to honor a teacher leader who manifests extraordinary leadership at the school site, in the community and in the field of education. The award is in memory of Helen Bernstein and her renowned support for teachers, advocacy for student success, and belief in decentralizing administration.

The first awardee, Terri Ann Sullivan is a lead teacher at the Academy of Medical Arts at Carson High School and a Humanitas teacher for more than 10 yearsShe is a 2011-2012 LAUSD Teacher of the Year for her dedication to excellent and creative teaching. Terri Ann has also implemented career-themed academics and experiences in the medical field for students at the academy. Terri Ann embodies the spirit of leadership, commitment, and enthusiasm for progress and change that Helen Bernstein modeled

The Design Challenge will be a fun and exciting evening! Creative teams will compete against the clock while they use everyday objects and engage the audience to design schools of the future. This inventive effort to collaborate and include community is a hallmark of LAEP’s approach to transforming education for students in high-poverty areas of Los Angeles.

LAEP produces college- and career-ready graduates through initiatives ranging from birth through high school. Known for our proven, effective programs and responsive collaboration, we’ve proudly improved schools in high-poverty areas of Los Angeles for nearly 30 years.

We invite you to support LAEP—an innovative leader in the school reform movement—by becoming a sponsor, buying a commemorative ad, or purchasing advance tickets for our annual fundraising event.

As a sponsor at any level, you and your guests will be invited to an exclusive pre-event VIP reception for Peggy and David, starting at 5:30 p.m. Please use the enclosed sponsorship form to indicate how you would like to partner with LAEP to continue the powerful history of our cutting-edge work and recognized best practices. 

Thank you for your consideration. If you have questions or need assistance, please call LAEP or our event coordinator, Karla Ruiz at 213.622.5237 x274.

Click here for Sponsorship and Tribute Opportunities

Can’t Attend? Donate Online in lieu of attending. Help produce college- and career-ready graduates!


Learn more about LAEP here

2013 Design Challenge Honorary Committee:  Congressman Tony Cárdenas; Congresswoman Judy Chu; Congresswoman Lucille Roybal-Allard; Congressman Adam Schiff; State Senator Kevin de León; State Senator Carol Liu; State Senator Alex Padilla; Assemblymember Jimmy Gómez; Assemblymember Reggie Jones-Sawyer; LA County Supervisor Gloria Molina; LA County Supervisor Mark Ridley-Thomas; LA County Supervisor Zev Yaroslavsky; LA City Councilmember José Huizar; LA City Councilmember Jan Perry; LA City Councilmember-elect Curren D. Price, Jr.; LA City Councilmember Ed P. Reyes; LAUSD Superintendent John E. Deasy; LAUSD Board President Mónica García; LAUSD Board Member Bennett Kayser; LAUSD Board Member Steve Zimmer; Virginia Victorin, VP and Manager, Global Philanthropy, JPMorgan Chase; Dwight L. Stuart, Jr., Stuart Foundation Board Chair; Steven D. Lavine, President, CalArts; Steven S. Koblik, President, The Huntington; and Neal Halfon, MD &MPH, Director, UCLA Center for Healthier Children, Families & Communities