Personalized Medicine Coalition


Tim Swope 
Personalized Medicine Coalition 


Tuesday May 21, 2013 from 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM EDT

Add to Calendar 


National Press Club 
529 14th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20045

Driving Directions 

Ninth Annual State of Personalized Medicine Luncheon
Keynote Speaker: Janet Woodcock, M.D., FDA
The National Press Club Ballroom, Washington, D.C.
May 21, 2013, Noon to 2:00 p.m ET

Janet Woodcock, M.D., Director, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research at the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), will deliver a keynote address at the Ninth Annual State of Personalized Medicine Luncheon hosted by the Personalized Medicine Coalition (PMC).

Dr. Woodcock will discuss how the FDA is dealing with the expanding field of personalized medicine, including the new program to encourage its development.

Dr. Woodcock previously served as FDA Deputy Commissioner and Chief Medical Officer. In 2004, she introduced FDA’s “Critical Path” Initiative, which is designed to improve the scientific basis for medical product development. Most recently, she launched the “Safety First” and “Safe Use” initiatives that are designed to improve drug safety management within and outside the FDA, respectively. She has spearheaded an initiative on pharmacogenomics that has led to unprecedented agency-industry interactions on pharmacogenomics use in drug development. Dr. Woodcock was also the first PMC Award for Leadership in Personalized Medicine recipient in 2005.

Stephen L. Eck, M.D., Ph.D., Vice President, Global Head of Medical Oncology of Astellas Pharma Global Development and member of the PMC Board of Directors, will introduce Dr. Woodcock.

Previous keynote speakers at the State of Personalized Medicine Luncheon include Mr. Mark Levin, Partner and Co-Founder of Third Rock Ventures; Mr. John Castellani, President and CEO of PhRMA; Dr. Margaret Hamburg, Commissioner of the Food and Drug Administration; Dr. Denis Cortese, President and CEO of the Mayo Clinic; Dr. Harvey Fineberg, President of the Institute of Medicine; The Honorable Michael O. Leavitt, Secretary of Health and Human Services; Dr. Andrew von Eschenbach, Commissioner of the Food and Drug Administration; and Dr. Francis Collins, Director of the National Human Genome Research Institute.

PMC Members - No Charge
Non-PMC Members - $100
Government and Media - No Charge
Lunch will be served.

Register Now! 

Event Sponsor: