Upper swoop w logo

Like us on Facebook!

Effect of Substance Abuse on the Treatment of TB Along the Border

Thursday, June 19, 2014
10:00am - 11:00am PST
11:00am - 12:00pm MST
12:00pm - 1:00pm CST
1:00pm - 2:00pm EST

Sponsored by:
Heartland National TB Center

in Conjunction with:
Texas/Oklahoma AIDS Education and Training


Lisa Armitige, MD, PhD
Medical Consultant
Heartland National TB Center


Continuing education credits will not be given for participating in the web based training. 

The vision of Heartland National TB Center is to provide excellence, expertise, and innovation in training, medical consultation, and
product development to reduce the impact of tuberculosis in our region.

OUR Mission
The mission of the Heartland National TB Center is to build capacity with our partners. We will share expertise in the treatment and
prevention of tuberculosis by: developing and implementing cutting edge trainings, delivering expert medical consultation, providing
technical assistance, and designing innovative educational and consultative products.

NO commercial support was given to Heartland National TB Center or the University of Texas Health Science Center at Tyler (UT Health Northeast) for this educational program.

Group viewing encouraged!
If a group viewing will be set up, only the group leader needs to register for the course.

For more information, please contact:

Jessica Quintero

System Requirements: To access and view this training event, you will need a computer with internet access. Audio for this web based training will be thru your computers speakers. It is recommended that you check your system for compatibility and connectivity prior to the event; instructions to test your system will be sent with confirmation of participation. If you have any questions about connectivity or audio please contact jessica.quintero@uthct.edu.
Target Audience
This course is designed for health care workers who work with patients who have or are at risk for, tuberculosis and substance abuse along the US-Mexico Border.

Conference Goal

The goal of this training is to educate health care workers on the effects of substance abuse on the treatment of patients diagnosed with tuberculosis and challenges along the US-Mexico Border.

Conference Objectives

Using lecture presentation participants will be able to discuss the impact of substance
abuse on treatment outcomes for TB along the US-Mexico border.

The format for this course will be web based lecture-style presentation. There will be ample time for questions and answers.

There is no charge to attend this workshop but pre-registration is mandatory.

Deadline to register is:
June 19, 2014

Space is limited to 100 lines.

Register on-line at:

Applicants will receive notification of their enrollment
status via e-mail (unless otherwise requested).