Headwaters Horse Country 
The Hills of Headwaters Tourism Association 
519-942-0314 x204 

Headwaters Parade of Horses - Call For Artists 

The Headwaters Equine Leadership Group is presenting the Headwaters Parade of Horses, a whimsical and unique series of outdoor horse sculptures featuring 20+ fiberglass horses transformed through the creativity of talented artisans. HELG is looking for artists to bring these magnificent sculptures to life.  They will be displayed throughout the Headwaters Region during the TORONTO 2015 Pan American Games.


Submission criteria and considerations for the Headwaters Parade of Horses - Call For Artists are as follows:


Submissions MUST include the following information in order to be considered:

  1. A completed online registration form, including registrant details (individual or group), an outline of intent for the project (including vision and materials) and a short overview of why you would like to be a part of the program.
  2. A maximum of three images of representative work completed within the last 2 years.  Please do not submit original artwork.  Images should be emailed to
  3. By submitting an entry, each entrant agrees to the criteria and warrants that his or her entry complies with the requirements set out in the criteria.

*The deadline for submissions is 11:55pm on Monday, April 6, 2015*


Consideration for this program is open to all artist.  (Artists must commit to completing their artwork on the statues during the dates and hours and at the location specified in the Process & Timing portion of this document.) 

Artist selection:

Final selection of artists for the Headwaters Parade of Horses will be at the discretion of the Selection Committee.


  • Painting:  Acrylic paint products will be provided to the artists. Acrylic paint products are strongly recommended by the manufacturer of the statues.  Other types of paints, such as oil paints, automotive, acrylic enamels, may also be considered by the Selection Committee.  Written approval of adhesion, permanence and durability for this application from the manufacturer of the product is required.
  • Special Application Requirements:  Materials other than artist products may be used for applications ranging from imbedding objects in acrylic gels, riveting metal platelets, creating unusual textures and unique paper and fabric collage applications.  Most of these applications can be done with a 2-part epoxy glue.  Super glue, hot glue sticks and caulking materials also work.
  • Clear-coat/Sealing:  Once completed by the artist and allowed to dry/cure, the statues will be clea-coated with 2-part automotive grade urethane for weather and marring resistance.

Processing & Timing:

  • April 3-5:  A sample horse statue will be on display at the Can-Am All-Breed Equine Expo at the Markham Fairgrounds. 
  • April 6:  Deadline for artist submissions
  • April 13:  Announcement of selected artists
  • Artists MUST commit to completing their artwork on the statues during the following dates and hours at the following location.  The statues cannot be removed from the site.

Location:  Caledon Equestrian Park in Palgrave, Ontario                                             Dates:  Artists will have access to their statue during Caledon Equestrian Park's business hours from May 2 through May 17.                         

  • June 1-August 31:  Statues will be installed and displayed at their temporary locations for the TORONTO 2015 Pan American Games.
  • September 1-30:  Statues will be paired with their buyers and moved to their final installations.


The Headwaters Equine Leadership Group is a collaborative initiative in support of the equine sector in the Headwaters, including the Town of Caledon, Dufferin County, Town of Erin and King Township.

Headwaters Horse Country is an initiative if the Headwaters Equine Leadership Group.  HELG is a committee of the Hills of Headwaters Tourism Association and supported by the Ontarion Trillium Foundation.

The Headwaters Equine Leadership Group steering committee includes:  Ross Millar(Chair), James Boyd, Elaine Capes, Sandra Dolson, Susan Fripp, Michele Harris, Linda Pabst, Theresa Sauren, Jamie Smyth, Stephany St.Louis & Gary van Bolderen