Jan Buhrmann
The ECHO Initiative


Tuesday, January 19, 2016
  3:00 p.m. to 3:15 p.m. Eastern

  2:00 p.m. to 2:15 p.m. Central
  1:00 p.m. to 1:15 p.m. Mountain
  12:00 p.m. to 12:15 p.m. Pacific
  11:00 a.m. to 11:15 a.m. Alaska
  10:00 a.m. to 10:15 a.m. Hawaii


This is an online event.

Join My Mailing List

Implementing an OAE Hearing Screening
and Follow-up Protocol

Coffee Break Mini-Webinar

Coffee Break Logo

Early Childhood Hearing Outreach (ECHO) Initiative

Tuesday, January 19, 2016

3:00 - 3:15 p.m. Eastern
2:00 - 2:15 p.m. Central
1:00 - 1:15 p.m. Mountain
12:00 - 12:15 p.m. Pacific
11:00 - 11:15 a.m. Alaska
10:00 - 10:15 a.m. Hawaii

Three Babies - Green Border

Hearing screening is the first step in identifying a young child’s hearing loss.  The goal of otoacoustic emissions (OAE) screening is to identify children who have a permanent hearing loss with an added benefit of identifying temporary hearing losses due to middle ear infections.  Approximately 25% of children in Early Head Start do not pass the initial OAE hearing screening and need additional screening or evaluations.  Following a consistent screening and follow-up protocol in a timely manner will ensure that young children with hearing loss are identified and intervention services are begun as early as possible.

This webinar will introduce the ECHO Initiative’s recommended screening and follow-up protocol.  Companion resources, including forms, letters, and scripts, will be highlighted.  Presenters will continue to be available after the webinar to answer questions. 


  • Detailed OAE hearing screening and follow-up protocol
  • Considerations in monitoring progress of medical and audiologic evaluations
  • Web-based resources available to support completion of the protocol
  • Criteria to determine completion of screenings and evaluations

    Who should attend?

    This webinar is designed for Health and Disability Coordinators, Program Directors and other staff responsible for developing hearing screening practices in EHS, Migrant and Seasonal, and American Indian/Alaska Native programs.

    For questions or additional information, contact:

    The ECHO Initiative
    Jan Buhrmann
    another teacher