Jan Buhrmann
The ECHO Initiative


Tuesday, February 23, 2016
  3:00 to 3:15 p.m. Eastern

  2:00 to 2:15 p.m. Central
  1:00 to 1:15 p.m. Mountain
  12:00 to 12:15 p.m. Pacific
  11:00 to 11:15 a.m. Alaska
  10:00 to 10:15 a.m. Hawaii


This is an online event.

Join My Mailing List

Otoacoustic Emissions (OAE)
Hearing Screening Equipment Resources

Coffee Break Mini-Webinar

Coffee Break Logo

Early Childhood Hearing Outreach (ECHO) Initiative

Tuesday, February 23, 2016

  3:00 -   3:15 p.m. Eastern
  2:00 -   2:15 p.m. Central
  1:00 -   1:15 p.m. Mountain
12:00 - 12:15 p.m. Pacific
11:00 -  11:15 a.m. Alaska
10:00 -  10:15 a.m. Hawaii

Obtaining, maintaining and effectively using Otoacoustic Emissions (OAE) equipment is a vital part of implementing hearing screening and follow-up in Head Start programs.  The purchase of OAE equipment, whether with program funds or with in-kind/non-federal funds, is a significant investment in building your program’s capacity to objectively screen children’s hearing. 

It is critical that care be taken when determining which brand of OAE equipment to purchase. Not all OAE equipment works equally well to screen infants, toddlers and preschool children in natural environments, such as early childhood classrooms and homes.    Likewise, equipment vendors vary in their ability to instruct lay screeners in how to care for equipment and how to use it with young children in real-life screening settings.

The ECHO Initiative has developed a set of resources to help.  This webinar will familiarize you with:

  • Criteria for selecting appropriate OAE equipment 
  • Available tools for comparing equipment
  • Funding the purchase of OAE equipment
  • Using and maintaining OAE equipment

Who should attend?

This webinar is designed for Health Coordinators, Program Directors and other staff responsible for developing hearing screening practices in EHS/HS, Migrant and Seasonal, and American Indian/Alaska Native programs.

For questions or additional information, contact:

The ECHO Initiative
Jan Buhrmann
another teacher