Friday, April 28, 2017 from 6:30 PM to 9:30 PM EDT
Add to Calendar 


Forsgate Country Club 
375 Forsgate Drive
Monroe Township, NJ 08831

Driving Directions 


Pat Thompson 
The League of Women Voters of New Jersey 

      Making Democracy Work            

  Cocktail Reception & Awards Ceremony

The League of Women Voters of New Jersey Education Fund cordially invites you to celebrate  "Making Democracy Work" at a cocktail reception and awards ceremony on Friday, April 28, 2017 at 6:30 pm at the Forsgate Country Club in Monroe Township.  

The evening will include an open bar, heavy hors d'oeuvres, music, a silent auction, and an awards ceremony.

The League will be presenting our prestigious "Making Democracy Work" award to honorees in celebration of their efforts to engage, educate, and protect New Jersey voters.


Senator Diane Allen, New Jersey Senate

Patricia Campos-Medina, President, Latinas United for Political Empowerment (LUPE PAC)

Dawn Clarke, League of Women Voters of New Jersey

Nick Corasaniti, New York Times

Jeannine LaRue, Kaufman Zita Group


Please join us for a wonderful evening as we celebrate these worthy honorees and the work of the League of Women Voters of New Jersey.

In addition, we will hold our 62nd Biennial Convention on the day following the cocktail reception (Saturday, April 29, 2017, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm at the Forsgate Country Club ). Learn more about the Convention here. We hope that you will join us for both and we are offering a special discounted price (a $40 savings) when you register for these events together using the option available during the registration process. Tickets for those wishing to attend the cocktail reception only are $125.

Proceeds from this event benefit the League of Women Voters of New Jersey Education Fund. Please RSVP by April 24, 2017.

Sponsorship opportunities are available.

Thank you to our sponsors!

Elizabeth Cady Stanton Sponsors: Investors Foundation

Florence Peshine Eagleton Sponsors:  Hedinger & Lawless; McManimon, Scotland & Baumann; PSEG; Saiber; John and Mayra Schmidt

Alice Paul Sponsors: DeCotiis, Fitzpatrick, Cole & Giblin, LLP; Kaufman Zita Group; LUPE Fund, Inc., New Jersey Chamber of Commerce; NJM Insurance Group; Princeton Public Affairs Group

Ida B. Wells-Barnett Sponsors: Capital Impact Group; Direct Development; Long Marmero & Associates; Porta; David Szerlip, Szerlip & Co

Local League Sponsors: LWV of Berkeley Heights, New Providence & Summit; LWV of Maplewood-South Orange; LWV of Monmouth County ILO; LWV of Monroe Township; LWV of the Morristown Area; LWV of the Princeton Area; LWV of Somerset County MAL; LWV of the Township of Ocean

Antoinette Brown Blackwell Sponsors: Lisa Bonsall; Pennington Farmers Market; Stonebridge at Montgomery

Senator Diane Allen Sponsors: Senator Jennifer Beck; Senator Anthony R. Bucco; Senator Gerald Cardinale; Senator Christopher J. Connors; Senator Sandra B. Cunningham; Senator Michael Doherty; Senator Bob Gordon; Senator Linda R. Greenstein; Senator Tom Kean; Senator Steven V. Oroho; Senator Nellie Pou; Senator Teresa M. Ruiz; Senator Shirley K. Turner; Senate Majority Leader Loretta Weinberg; Assemblyman Jack M. Ciatarelli; Assemblywoman Annette Chaparro; Assemblyman Thomas Giblin; Assemblywoman Amy H. Handlin; Assemblywoman Valerie Vainieri Huttle; Assemblywoman Mila Jasey; Assemblyman Gordon M. Johnson; Assemblywoman Nancy F. Muñoz; Assemblyman Declan O'Scanlon; Assemblywoman Nancy Pinkin; Assemblyman Troy Singleton