Tuesday, November 28, 2017 from 11:30 AM to 1:30 PM CST
Add to Calendar 


River Oaks Country Club 
1600 River Oaks Blvd
Houston, TX 77019

Driving Directions 


Elaine Andino, Director of Advancement 
Recipe for Success Foundation 


Chaired by Fady Armanious & Bill Baldwin

Recipe for Success invites you to join in recognizing some of our most inspiring community activists who are dedicated to building Houston into a world-class city. Featuring a menu crafted by Chef Greg Martin and Chef Monica Pope from Bistro Menil and kids participating in our culinary programs, this luncheon celebrates the power of a shared meal to shape conversation, culture and communities.


 Philamena Baird     

 A stalwart in the Houston community, Philamean has helped further advancement in the arts, education and the medical field in Houston through her charity work. Her efforts include chairing galas for the Houston Ballet, Houston Symphony and Houston Opera and serving on the Houston Ballet Board. She is the founding President of the Harris County Education Foundation and served on the board of the Jung Education Institute. Philamena also works closely with the Memorial Hermann Hospital System by serving on their Foundation Board, and has twice chaired their annual gala. 

Claire Theilke

A former Foundation Board member and longtime advocate, Claire is a community activist and Managing Director at Hines. After a highly successful capital campaign for Legacy, she continues to spread her philanthropy and volunteer work among many of Houston’s important causes, such as helping to launch the young professionals program for Preservation Alliance, chairing events and serving on the board at ARTBridge, Buffalo Bayou Partnership and Houston Grand Opera - Opening Nights for Young Professionals, along with support for Asia Society Hermann Park Conservancy and many other local organizations.


Sippi Khurana

Sippi is a Rheumatologist, Immunologist and Internist in private practice, and is board certified in Rheumatology and Internal Medicine. She has been named an H Texas magazine Top Doc for three consecutive years, and the 2016 Medical Honoree for the Arthritis Foundation. Sippi’s philanthropic endeavors include serving on the Board of Directors for the Houston Symphony, UNICEF Southwest Region, Pratham USA, American India Foundation, The Women’s Home and Interfaith Ministries of Greater Houston.


Bettina Elias Siegel

Bettina is a regular volunteer for the Foundation, a local advocate for healthy school lunches and a nationally recognized writer and commentator on matters relating to children and food policy. Her blog, The Lunch Tray, is a national influencer with thousands of readers and her writing on children and food has appeared in the New York Times, the Guardian, the Houston Chronicle, the Huffington Post and Civil. She became the story when she launched a national “Causes” campaign to remove pink slime from school lunches, which landed her on The Today Show and the front page of the New York Times.


Hallie Vanderhider 

Hallie is the Managing Director with SFC Energy Partners, and for ten years ran the largest private oil and gas fee mineral owner in the country, Black Stone Minerals Company, L.P. as the President, Chief Operating officer and member of the board. Hallie focuses her philanthropic efforts on education and arts and sits on the Advisory Board for the Mays Business School at Texas A&M University and has endowed a Chair in their Accounting College. Hallie has created a perpetual scholarship with the Association of Former Students providing multi-year scholarships for students at Texas A&M in memory of her late son, Matthew. Hallie is also a Trustee of the Houston Ballet, a board member of the Houston Producer’s Forum and generous benefactor of the Museum of Fine Arts-Houston, Space Center Houston, Memorial Hermann Foundation, American Heart Association, and many other local philanthropies. 

2017 Award Winners:

Chef of the Year: Chef Greg Martin, Bistro Menil

Volunteers of the Year: T’Liza Kiel, Mission Continues

2017 Vegout! Top Fundraiser: Ariana Smetana

 The Art of Food & Community Awards Lunch raises critical funds to continue the vital work of Recipe for Success and our endevors to teach children the skills necessary to lead healthier lives while providing fresh, affordable produce to local communities through our own Hope Farms.