Thursday, March 22, 2018 from 6:30 PM to 9:00 PM CDT
Add to Calendar 


Piazza on the Green 
6200 TPC Dr
McKinney, TX 75070

Driving Directions 


Dana Riley 
Volunteer McKinney 

Spirit of McKinney Volunteer Awards Dinner

We are celebrating 20 years of serving this community! Please join us as we look back to where we started and see how far we have come. We will celebrate the Volunteer Award finalists and announce the winners in 7 categories. It will be a wonderful evening to share all the wonderful work being done by local volunteers and nonprofits!

Kim Hoffman-Volunteer of the Year Award-Presented to one adult who exemplifies the true spirit of Volunteerism through volunteering with numerous organizations in or around McKinney and demonstrates a passion for identifying and meeting this community’s needs. And the finalists are:
Jason Hernandez

Kimberly Hughes
Sheila Williamson

Pete & Nancy Huff Community Service Award-Presented to a person(s) who demonstrate a long-standing commitment to this community through volunteerism, board service and/or leadership of local organizations or groups. And the finalists are:
Jeremiah Hammer
Bob Hutchings
Stella Stevens

The Heart Award-Presented to an individual or group who has provided significant volunteer service to one agency or organization and has made a significant impact on the agency and/or the clients they serve. And the finalists are:
Gina Holter
Bryan Johnson
Ned & Carolyn Searles
Barbara Washecheck

Nonprofit Leadership Award-Presented to a person within a McKinney-area nonprofit organization, (paid or volunteer) who demonstrates leadership, commitment and vision within their organization and/or in collaboration with other organizations for the common good. And the finalists are:
Carol Bodwell of the Community Food Pantry

Derrick Robinson of the Alliance of Elite Youth Leadership
Ruth Thompson of HUGS Café
Carol Wood of CityChurch McKinney

Volunteer Group Award-Presented to a group of volunteers who have joined together in service to others as they contribute to a local nonprofit, cause or organization. And the finalists are:
AARP Tax Volunteers for the McKinney Libraries
Medical City McKinney Volunteer Auxiliary
St. Phillips Episcopal Church of Frisco for Embrace Texas

Inspired to Serve Award-Presented to a public or private school, home school group or other group that endeavors to teach and demonstrate serving others to its students through curriculum, programs and community service initiatives.  And the finalists are:
Collin College’s Alpha Mu Tau Chapter
McKinney Christian Academy Upper School Students
McKinney Housing Authority

“Spirit of McKinney” Business Service Award-Presented to a McKinney area business for their demonstration of community support through volunteerism and/or financial support of local nonprofits including employee engagement programs and sponsorships of community events. And the finalists are:
Haynes Landscaping
Premier Plumbers of Texas

Our MC for the evening will be McKinney's own Allison Harris of FOX4 News.


Music will be provided by a string trio from the Odysseus Chamber Orchestra.  Reserve your seats today!