Thursday, June 21, 2018 from 8:00 AM to 10:00 AM EDT
Add to Calendar 


The Roosevelt Hotel 
45 East 45th Street
New York, NY 10017

Driving Directions 


League of Women Voters 
League of Women Voters of the City of New York Education Fund 




FREEDOM OF THE PRESS: 2018 Awards Breakfast 

Join the League of Women Voters of the City of New York Education Fund as we pay tribute to those in the fight to protect Freedom of the Press.

The 2018 Awards Breakfast:  Freedom of the Press

Honoring the

Committee to Protect Journalists

The Committee to Protect Journalists is an independent, nonprofit organization that promotes press freedom  worldwide. CPJ defends the right of journalists to report the news without fear of reprisal. CPJ is made up of about 40 experts around the world, with headquarters in New York City. When press freedom violations occur, CPJ mobilizes a network of correspondents who report and take action on behalf of those targeted. CPJ reports on violations in repressive countries, conflict zones, and established democracies alike.

Can't make the event?  Consider making a donation to show your support of the League.  You'll find several options on the registration page to be listed in the program - or Click Here to donate. and be sure to include a note "2018 Awards Breakfast"

Event Chair:  Catherine Herkovic, SVP, Client Services, Nielsen

Honorary Committee:

Edward I. Altman, Professor Emeritus from NYU Stern School of Business

Barbara Biben, Gannett Newspaper Executive (Ret.)

James Cotins, Alston & Bird, LLP

Linda Zango-Haley, Senior Associate Director, Marketing, Communications and Outreach, Baruch College CUNY

Jay Hershenson, VP Communications and Marketing, Queens College

League of Women Voters of the City of New York Board of Directors

Debra O'Connell, President & General Manager, WABC-TV

Malva Rabinowitz, Malva E. Rabinowitz LLC

Richard Ravitch, Former Lieutenant Governor of New York, Principal, Ravitch & Rice, LLC

Elinor Tatum, Editor in Chief, Amsterdam News

Alair Townsend, Crain Communications Vice President and Publisher (Ret.)

Kathryn Wylde, President & CEO, Partnership for New York

Your donations are tax-deductible

The League of Women Voters of the City of New York Education Fund is a recognized 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.