Saturday, June 16, 2018 from 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM EDT
Add to Calendar 


KSU Center, Room 400 
3333 Busbee Drive
Kennesaw, GA 30144

Driving Directions 


Jessica Wilson 
Georgia Writers Association 

54th Annual Georgia Author of the Year Awards 

Please join us for the 54th Annual

Georgia Author of the Year Awards Banquet

Saturday, June 16, 2018

6 PM-9 PM

Kennesaw State University Center, Room 400

This year marks the 54th anniversary of the Georgia Author of the Year Awards (GAYA), the oldest literary award in the Southeast. The awards were first held by the Dixie Council of Authors and Journalists in 1964 to honor the best among Georgia writers. GAYA has been hosted by the Georgia Writers Association (GWA) since 1994. As the awards have grown in prestige and participation, categories have been added or modified to include a variety of fiction and nonfiction genres. The Posthumous Achievement Award, a new addition in 2013, and the Lifetime Achievement Award seek to honor exceptional efforts of Georgia's past and present authors. 

124 nominations took place this year in 13 categories. Click here for the full list of the 2018 GAYA Nominees.  One winner and one finalist of each category will be announced at the GAYA banquet and ceremony on June 16, 2018.

The semi-formal banquet and ceremony will be held at the Kennesaw State University (KSU) Center, Room 400, at 3333 Busbee Drive, Kennesaw, Georgia 30144.

Tickets for the banquet are $35 each and include a buffet dinner and wine vouchers. Table seating is not assigned or reserved. 

Please join us for an exciting evening of celebration where one winner and one finalist will be announced for each category.