When

Tuesday, February 12, 2019
2:00-3:00 p.m. Eastern
1:00-2:00 p.m. Central

12:00-1:00 p.m. Mountain
11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Pacific
10:00-11:00 a.m. Alaska
9:00-10:00 a.m. Hawaii

Add to Calendar 

Where

This is an online event.

Contact

The ECHO Initiative
Jan Buhrmann

303-503-0858
echo.ncham@usu.edu 
Join My Mailing List

 

Documentation Implementing Otoacoustic Emissions (OAE) Hearing Screening and Follow-up: Self-Guided Learning Curriculum Webinar 

Presented by staff from the Early Childhood Hearing Outreach
(ECHO) Initiative, Utah State University

Tuesday, February 12, 2019
2:00-3:00 p.m. EDT


In this webinar, learn about a self-guided learning process to prepare individuals to provide quality Otoacoustic Emissions (OAE) hearing screenings to young children.  The ECHO Initiative periodically offers a four-part web class addressing this topic.  Now, the ECHO Initiative also offers this practical, hands-on, self-guided learning curriculum as a more flexible alternative for staff to access as needed.  The curriculum is divided into four online learning sessions and the content includes information and exercises for:

  • Planning and implementing an OAE hearing screening program
  • Explaining how OAE screening works
  • Conducting OAE screenings on young children
  • Engaging in appropriate follow-up steps when a child does not pass the screening
  • Tracking children through the screening and follow-up protocol
  • Accessing tools and resources that support quality improvement

Topics for the webinar include:

  • An overview of developing an OAE screening program
  • How to participate in completing the online curriculum
  • Building OAE screening capacity within your Head Start or Early Head Start program

Target Audience

This webinar is for screeners, program managers and others who are currently using, or are preparing to use, Otoacoustic Emissions (OAE) to conduct hearing screenings with children birth to five years of age.  It is also intended for T/TA staff who may be overseeing hearing screening program development. 

For questions or additional information, contact:

The ECHO Initiative
Jan Buhrmann
303-503-0858
echo.ncham@usu.edu 

NCHAM Privacy Notice