Thursday, January 3, 2019 from 9:30 AM to 3:00 PM EST
Add to Calendar 


Solomon Blatt Building, S.C. Statehouse 
1117 Pendleton St.
Room 112
Columbia, SC 29201

Driving Directions 


Jennifer Faulkner 
S.C. Press Association 
Legislative Workshop for the Media 

This workshop is sponsored by the S.C. Press Association, S.C. Broadcasters Association and the Associated Press.

Please note that this event is open only to members of SCPA, SCBA and AP. 

The annual Legislative Workshop for the Media will preview the 2019 legislative session. Make plans to join your state legislators as they discuss various topics including tax reform, public education financing, hurricane relief, K-12 reform and school safety, Santee Cooper, the bond bill, commission on higher education reform, opioids, ethics, campaign finance reform and more.

This event will take place Thursday, Jan. 3, from 9:30 a.m. until 3 p.m., at the Solomon Blatt Building on the Statehouse grounds in Columbia. Lunch will be provided. Parking is on your own There are parking meters and garages near the Blatt Building.

We recommend this event for editors, new and veteran Statehouse reporters, editorial writers, city editors and assignment editors. SCPA members: Because of space limitations, this workshop is open to printed newspapers only.

The event is a one-stop shop for credentialed media to interview key members of both the House and Senate. Confirmed panelists will include Sens. Thomas Alexander, Sean Bennett, Tom Davis, Larry Grooms, Greg Hembree, Brad Hutto, Shane Massey, John Matthews, Nikki Setzler and Katrina Shealy. Confirmed Representatives include Murrell Smith, new Ways and Means Chairman; Peter McCoy, new Judiciary Chairman; Rita Allison; Gilda Cobb-Hunter; Kirkman Finlay; Russell Fry; Jackie Hayes; Mandy Powers Norrell; Tommy Pope;Todd Rutherford; and Gary Simrill. We will add to this list as panelists are confirmed.

Lee Harter, executive editor of The Times and Democrat, will moderate. All discussions are on the record.

EARLYBIRD REGISTRATION: If you register before Friday, Dec. 21 the registration fee is only $60. If you register between Dec. 22 - Dec. 28, the fee goes up to $70. Registrations will not be accepted after Dec. 28.