Register Today!          COST:  $125 Full Workshop  ($80 one day)


Alaska Pacific University 
4101 University Drive
Anchorage, AK 99508

Driving Directions 


Alaska Airlines is offering a 5% discount on flights to the workshop. Just go to and input the Discount Code ECMC571 when searching for flights.


Residence Inn Anchorage Midtown is offering a discounted rate of $239+Tax for conference attendees. The rate is good through June 2. To book, call 1-800-317-0781 or go to 



Crystal Enkvist
Alaska Power Association - Executive Director

Mark Glick
Hawaii Natural Energy Institute - Energy Policy Specialist

Ross Guttromson
Sandia Labs - Principal Research Engineer

Daisy Huang
University of Alaska Fairbanks - Assistant Professor

Olinka Lawrence
Kwethluk Inc. - Bookkeeper

Lynn Trahey
Argonne National Lab / JCESR - Research Integration Lead

Dennis Meiners
Intelligent Energy Systems

Robert Wills
Intergrid LLC - President

Curtis Thayer - Executive Director
Alaska Energy Authority

Tyler McCandless
National Center for Atmospheric Research - Machine Learning Scientist

Brian Hirsch
Deerstone Consulting - President

David Oliver
RSA Engineering - Sr. Engineer

Natalie Hanson
Nuvista Light & Electric Cooperativce - Exec. Director

Mariko Shirazi
AK Center for Energy & Power - Research Professor

Jason Rowland
Electric Power Systems - Engineer

Anna Abraham
Naterkaq Light Plant - Utility Manager

Chris Rose
Renewable Energy Alaska Project (REAP) - Executive Director

Stephanie Nowers,
KIS Consulting LLC - Owner

Monty Worthington,
Ocean Renewable Power Company - Director of Project Development - Alaska

Matt Bergan
Kotzebue Electric Association - Project Engineer

Alec Mesdag
Energy Services Director, AEL&P - Energy Services Director

JP Pinard
JP Pinard Consulting - President

Ed Jenkin
Matanuska Electric Association - Director of Power Delivery

Scott Sanner, 
Alaska Village Electric Cooperative - Chief Information Officer 

Joshua Sergie
Kwethluk Inc - Power Plant Operator 

Ben Smith, 
AVTEC - Instructor
Mary Panruk
Naterkaq Light Plant - Chairman

Jeremy Vandermeer 
Alaska Center for Energy & Power - Research Engineer

Tom Wolf
Denali Commission


Stephanie Nowers 
Alaska Wind Working Group 

Alaska Wind-Diesel Workshop

June 24-25, 2019 • Anchorage, Alaska

This 2-day workshop offers multiple expert panels and networking opportunities for sharing information and learning more about wind systems in remote and islanded grid environments. Sessions will focus on technical aspects of operation and integration including load balancing, energy storage, diesels-off operations, frequency control & more. 

REGISTRATION: $80 one day/ $125 for both days

*Online registration ends Tuesday, June 17. (At the door registration - $95 one day / $150 for both days)



From left to right: Monty Worthington (Ocean Renewable Power Company), Ray Massie (HydroTasmania), Lynn Trahey (Argonne National Lab), Mark Glick (Hawaii Natural Energy Institute)

*For full list of speakers, see agenda (.pdf)


Kilowatt Sponsor • $500: Name listed as a sponsor on the website and in the program, and sponsor recognized at the conference.

Megawatt Sponsor • $750: Logo listed on the website and in the program, sponsor recognized at the conference and free exhibit table*. *Space is limited for tables so this will be available on a first-come first-serve basis

Gigawatt Sponsor • $1,500: Megawatt level plus sponsor’s banner displayed at the conference and 2 complimentary registrations. Sponsor to provide the banner.

Terawatt Sponsor • $2,500 (lunch or reception sponsor): Gigawatt level plus sponsor’s name and logo displayed at the tables at lunch and/or reception and 5-minute talk at lunch and/or reception

For more information, contact Stephanie Nowers at or 907.229.1982

An Alaska Wind Working Group Event

Organized by:



Sponsored by:


IEEE Alaska Section