Friday, October 4, 2019 from 8:30 AM to 3:30 PM EDT
Add to Calendar 


Rustic Lodge in Indiana 
2199 Oakland Ave.
Indiana, PA 15701

Driving Directions 


Sustainable Indiana County 
League of Women Voters of Pennsylvania 

Economic Development Summit III -
Reinventing Rural America

The final report of the Task Force was presented at Summit II, on September 28, 2018. This year’s Summit celebrates the efforts of the Task Force and its community to pursue the opportunities and recommendations outlined in the report. A panel of group leaders will share their successes and plans for future action. Guest speakers will highlight opportunities for promoting economic and workforce development, and citizen education, within each of the issue areas.

Breakfast/Registration at 8:30 a.m. Includes lunch.

Free and open to the public. Please register to attend.

Our Speakers:

Sustainable Agriculture
Chloe Drew & Jennica Hopkins, Mother Earth Farm
Renewable Energy
Anna Siefken, Executive Director at The Wilton E. Scott Institute for Energy Innovation
Sustainable Building Construction          
Matt Mahoney, Western PA Program Manager, Keystone Energy Efficiency Alliance
Environmental Restoration & Stewardship         
Joey James, Senior Strategist at Down Stream Strategies
Economic Development
Emily Rhodes, AICP, Technical Assistance & Planning Manager, Just Transition Fund
Sascha Meinrath, Palmer Chair in Telecommunications at Penn State University

About the Task Force:

Family supporting jobs. Healthy and thriving communities. Rural economic vitality that gives all its citizens a chance to prosper.

These are aims of the Indiana County Sustainable Economic Development Task Force.

The Indiana County Commissioners established the Task Force in May 2017, following a successful inaugural Sustainable Economy Summit. The Task Force was charged with creating a report that would identify new opportunities for economic development, citizen education, and job training/workforce development within four issue areas:

  • the renewable energy sector
  • innovative agriculture
  • sustainable building construction, renovation, and restoration
  • wise use of the County’s natural resources

The Task Force steering committee is comprised of representatives from:

  • Indiana County Office of Planning & Development
  • League of Women Voters of Indiana County and Pennsylvania
  • Center for Community Growth
  • The Evergreen Conservancy
  • IUP Sustainability Studies Program
  • Indiana Borough
  • Indiana County Conservation District
  • Indiana County Technology Center
  • Indiana County Center for Economic Operations, a consortium of:
  • Indiana County Commissioners
  • Indiana County Chamber of Commerce
  • Indiana County Development Corporation
  • Indiana County Tourist Bureau
  • Indiana University of Pennsylvania

Visit our Website: