The Council for Agricultural Science and Technology and CropLife Foundation invite you to attend

The 2019
Borlaug CAST Communication Award Presentation
~ ~ ~
Featuring a keynote presentation by Dr. Frank Mitloehner
Feeding the World Without Wasting It

Followed by a panel discussion of previous award winners


Wednesday, October 16, 2019
7:00 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. CDT

Breakfast begins at 7:00
Program begins at 7:30

Add to Calendar     

Can't make it in person? View via live streaming on CAST's Facebook.


Des Moines Marriott Downtown 
700 Grand Avenue
Des Moines Hall, 3rd Floor
Des Moines, IA 50309


Melissa Sly 
Council for Agricultural Science and Technology 
515-292-2125 ext. 232    

Join My Mailing List

7:00 - 7:30 a.m. Complimentary breakfast sponsored by CropLife Foundation

7:30 - 8:30 a.m. Borlaug CAST Communication Award Program
~ Keynote Presentation by Frank Mitloehner, Ph.D., Professor and Air Quality Extension Specialist, Department of Animal Science, University of California, Davis
Feeding the World Without Wasting It: Throughout our lifetime, the human population on planet Earth will have tripled, often referred to as the “2050 Challenge”. The obvious question becomes how to drastically produce more food with constant inputs. In much of the developed world, agricultural productivity has been tripled over the last 50 years, an achievement that we now must repeat globally to feed the world without devouring its natural resources. Indeed, a new ‘green revolution’ might be needed for much of Asia and Africa, much like the one that was initiated by the scientist who the present CAST award was named after: Dr. Norman Borlaug.

8:30 - 9:30 a.m.  Filtering Fiction from Fact:  The Future State of Science Communication
Panel discussion on the topic of the current state and future role of science communication in food and agriculture with a panel of Borlaug CAST Communication Award winners on the 10-year anniversary of the award.
Moderator: Julie Borlaug Larson, Vice President of Communications and Public Relations, INARI Agriculture, A Flagship Pioneering Company

~ Catherine Bertini, Distinguished Fellow, Chicago Council on Global Affairs
World Food Prize Laureate 2003 (2011 BCCA winner)
~ Marty Matlock, Executive Director, UA Resiliency Center and Professor, Biological and Agricultural Engineering Department, University of Arkansas (2018 BCCA winner)
~ Frank Mitloehner, Professor and Air Quality Extension Specialist, Department of Animal Science, University of California, Davis (2019 BCCA winner)
~ Channapatna Prakash, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at Tuskegee University (2015  BCCA winner)

~ Carl Winter, Cooperative Extension Specialist Emeritus, University of California--Davis (2012 BCCA winner)