When

Thursday, December 5, 2019
2:00-3:00 p.m. Eastern
1:00-2:00 p.m. Central

12:00-1:00 p.m. Mountain
11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Pacific
10:00-11:00 a.m. Alaska

9:00-10:00 a.m. Hawaii

Add to Calendar 

Where

This is an online event.

Contact

The ECHO Initiative
Jan Buhrmann

303-503-0858
echo.ncham@usu.edu 
Join My Mailing List

 

Strategies and Steps for Completing Hearing Screenings with Children Who are Difficult to Screen

Presented by staff from the Early Childhood Hearing Outreach
(ECHO) Initiative, Utah State University

Thursday, December 5, 2019
2:00-3:00 p.m. EST

When conducting hearing screenings with children birth to five years of age, it is common to encounter some who are very challenging to screen. Screeners therefore need to be prepared to diversify their techniques to elicit greater cooperation, or they may need to refer a subset of children to  a pediatric audiologist who can complete the screening. In particular, children with histories of middle ear disorders causing ear-related pain, or children with developmental delays or other special needs may not initially be cooperative.


The very factors that cause children to be difficult to screen may also put them at higher risk for permanent hearing loss. Thus, it is essential to have a plan that allows hearing screening to be completed on these children, as well as on the majority who are easy to screen.

Topics for the webinar include:

  • Desensitizing children with histories of middle ear disorders 
  • Specific techniques for screening children with ear sensitivity
  • Effective distractors and toys
  • Making and following up on referrals to audiologists
  • Cautions about relying on previous screening results 

Target Audience

This webinar is for anyone engaged in conducting hearing screenings with children birth to five years of age using the Otoacoustic Emissions or Pure Tone screening method.   It is also intended for individuals responsible for supervising hearing screening and follow-up practices in Head Start or Early Head Start programs.  

After completing your registration, you will receive a confirmation email with instructions for joining the webinar.

For questions or additional information, contact:

The ECHO Initiative
Jan Buhrmann
303-503-0858
echo.ncham@usu.edu 

NCHAM Privacy Notice