State Academy Logo


Thursday, May 20, 2021 from 6:00 PM to 7:30 PM EDT
Add to Calendar 


This is an online event via Zoom.  Zoom link will be sent to all registrants.


Karen Kirstein & Eugene Monaco, Event Co-Chairs 
NY State Academy for Public Administration 

SAPA 2021 Public Service Excellence Awards/Essentials Graduation 

The State Academy for Public Administration's 2021 Public Service Excellence Awards ceremony will be held on Thursday, May 20, 2021 via ZoomThis is a fitting opportunity to celebrate some of your esteemed colleagues.

This SAPA event is being co-sponsored by the NY Capital Chapter of the Association of Government Accountants (AGA). During the Excellence Award ceremony, SAPA also will recognize the 2021 Essentials of Public Administration graduates.

There is no charge for this event, but registration is required.

This year's SAPA Public Service Excellence Awards will go to 3 individuals, 3 teams, with 2 honorable mentions. The Association of Government Accountants (AGA) also will be recognizing two members of that group with their 2021 Outstanding Achievement in Government Accountability Award.

The 2021 SAPA Excellence Awards will go to:
  • Bob Rice, NYS DOT Region 1
  • Daniel Martuscello III, NYS DOCCS (Corrections & Community Supervision)
  • John WIlliams, NYS Energy Research & Development Authority
  • Albany County Sheriff's Office Homeless Improvemet Program Team
  • Battery Park City Authority's Zero Waste Advisory Committee Team
  • NYS Veterans' Services DVS Learning Team
Honorable Mention to:
  • Cody Baker, NYS DOT Finger Lakes
  • Lindsey Foot, Office of Medicaid Inspector General
The AGA Awards will go to: 
  • Susan A. Rizzo, Albany County Comptroller
  • Ken Shulman, NYS Office of the State Comptroller
2021 SAPA Essentials Graduates:

Emma Antolos, Sofia Aronowitz, Charlene Cordero, Cate Degen, Alex George, Leslie Green,     Jennifer Gregory, Winston Heslop, Kimberly Jones, Maria Volpe-McDermott, Shelbi McIlroy,          Katelyn O’Leary, Anthony Swingruber
Please click on the link below to RSVP.  You will receive an e-mail confirmation.
Register Now! Questions should be directed to Karen Kirstein or Gene Monaco at