2016 Better Government Competition Awards Gala 


Monday June 20, 2016 from 6:00 PM to 9:15 PM EDT
Add to Calendar 


Hyatt Regency Boston 
1 Ave de Lafayette
Boston, MA 02111

Driving Directions 


Brian Patterson 
Pioneer Institute 
617-723-2277 ext. 217 

Please join Pioneer Institute at an awards gala recognizing the winner and finalists of the 25th annual Better Government Competition. The 2016 contest sought proposals to improve quality and access to care for individuals living with mental illness, and Pioneer received submissions from all over the country.

The Keynote Address will be delivered by Pennsylvania Congressman Timothy Murphy, a psychologist and best-selling author, whose mental health reform legislation has gained bipartisan support nationwide.

About the Keynote Speaker
Dr. Timothy F. Murphy is currently serving his seventh term in Congress, representing the 18th District of Pennsylvania. He is Chairman of the House Energy & Commerce Oversight Subcommittee and Co-chair of the Mental Health Caucus. Drawing on his three decades of experience as a psychologist specializing in child and family treatment, Rep. Murphy has gained recognition as a passionate advocate for meaningful reforms in the U.S. healthcare system.

In June 2015, Rep. Murphy reintroduced his landmark mental health reform legislation, the Helping Families In Mental Health Crisis Act, following a multi-year investigation by his subcommittee into the nation's broken mental health system. The legislation has received bipartisan support from national organizations and media outlets across the country, including the American Psychiatric Association, the National Alliance on Mental Illness, as well as CNN, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.

Rep. Murphy became widely known as "Dr. Tim" through regular appearances on local and national radio and television, and is the author of two books: the award-winning book, The Angry Child (2001), and Overcoming Passive-Aggression (2005). He serves as a Commander in the U.S. Navy Reserve Medical Service Corps, working with wounded warriors with Traumatic Brain Injury and Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder at Walter Reed National Military Medical Center-Bethesda. He earned a bachelor's degree from Wheeling Jesuit University, a master's degree from Cleveland State University, and a PhD from the University of Pittsburgh.


The 2016 Better Government Competition attracted nearly 100 proposals from around the country. A winner and eight additional entries will be selected as finalists and semi-finalists by a distinguished panel of judges, including: 

  • Dr. Elizabeth Childs, M.D., M.P.A., Adult/Child/Adolescent Psychiatrist
  • Frederic M. Clifford, Pioneer Institute Board of Directors
  • Kathleen M. Dennehy, National Council on Crime & Delinquency, Former Commissioner Massachusetts Department of Correction
  • Vicker V. DiGravio, III, President & CEO, Association for Behavioral Healthcare
  • Matt Selig, Esq., Executive Director, Health Law Advocates