Thursday October 30, 2014 from 6:15 PM to 9:00 PM EDT

Add to Calendar 


A La Carte Event Pavilion 
4050 Dana Shores Drive
Tampa, FL 33634

Driving Directions 

A La Carte Event Pavilioin logo

Thank you to our event sponsors!

Title Sponsor:

Community Sponsor:

City of Temple Terrace logo

Good Neighbor Sponsor:

C.E.D. / Raybro / Mr. & Mrs. Gary Pike

Sponsor the Planning & Design Awards

Contact Us


Join My Mailing List

Recent Winners:


Hillsborough County City-County Planning Commission's

32nd Annual Planning & Design Awards

presented by

Plan to join us | as we recognize excellence in planning and design & toast our Executive Director, Ray Chiaramonte, who will be retiring in January 2015!

October 30, 2014 | Winners Announced 

A La Carte Event Pavilion | 4050 Dana Shores Drive | Tampa

Cash Bar Reception | 6:15 p.m.

Dinner & Presentations | 7:15 p.m.

Tickets | $50 per person 

Tickets will be on sale through October 24, 2014.

Please register above to RSVP, click on Register Now above.

Then, complete your ticket purchase:

 Pay by check:
  • Make checks payable to: Hillsborough County BOCC
  • Indicate who the payment is for & a contact phone #
  • Mail to:  

The Planning Commission

601 East Kennedy Boulevard, 18th Floor

Tampa, FL 33602


 Pay by credit card:

  • Fees will be applied (up to $3.50 per ticket) at:

Please note: 
Registrations will be finalized when payment has been received.

Table sponsorships are available to those who purchase packages of 10 tickets and include reserved table with company name posted and recognition during the presentation.

The Planning Commission is proud to announce our 32nd annual celebration of great planning in Hillsborough County. This awards program is a well-respected tradition honoring the very best in planning and design in Hillsborough County. Winning projects contribute to a better quality of life in our community and serve as models to learn from and emulate. With the emphasis on the importance of great planning in our own region, our awards program is now held in October to align with the many national festivities during the American Planning Association's (APA) National Community Planning Month and celebration of Great Places in America!

Brendan McLaughlin


  Thank you to our host!

  Brendan McLaughlin, ABC Action News Anchor





Thank you to our judges!Merle Bishop

Merle Bishop, FAICP  

With 40 years of experience in planning and growth management, Merle Bishop is a Certified Public Manager and is currently the Growth Management Department Director for the City of Winter Haven, Florida. A member of AICP since 1986, Merle has served as President of the Florida Chapter of APA from 2011 to 2013.

Mary Kay Peck Delk Mary Kay Peck Delk, FAICP

Principal and Founder of MK Peck Associates, Mary Kay Peck Delk brings 30 years of local government experience at the city, county, and regional level, providing her the knowledge of how to work with local governments.  Mary Kay is a  Past National President of the American Planning Association.



Jim Ward

Jim Ward, RLA (California), AICP, CNU-A

The Sustainable Development Coordinator for the Orange County Planning Division, Jim Ward also has seven years of design consulting within planning, architecture, and landscape architectural firms on top of 18 years of public sector urban planning and design. Jim is also a visiting lecturer in urban design at both Rollins College in Winter Park and University of Central Florida in Orange County.