Submission Period

Tuesday, June 1, 2021 at 12:00 PM MDT
Friday, August 13, 2021 at 5:00 PM MDT

Add to Calendar


Anna Foster


2021 AIA Idaho Design Awards 

The AIA Idaho Design Awards program is designed to encourage excellence in architecture, to elevate the public consciousness of great design and commitment to service, which contributes to the advancement of the profession and the built environment. The program will recognize outstanding achievements in architecture and design of Idaho individuals, firms and project teams. The submissions open on June 1, 2021 and end on August 13th, 2021, 5 PM MST. 

This year the award recipients will be selected by a three-member jury that will evaluate projects for demonstrating exceptional design and superior work of architecture. Additionally, the jury evaluates whether designs are sustainable, affordable, durable, innovative, socially impactful, meeting client needs as well as addressing the natural and built contexts.

Design Awards Jury:

Faith Rose, AIA, O'Neill Rose Architects, Brooklyn, NY
Thomas F. Robinson, AIA, LEVER Architecture, Portland, OR
Ben Waechter, AIA, Waechter Architecture, Portland, OR

Design Awards Committee:

Jeff Williams, AIA, Co-Chair
Mark Pynn, AIA, Co-Chair
Gretchen Wagner, AIA
Caleb Spangenberger, AIA
Mike Doty, AIA
Greg Ugrin, AIA
Jared Schmidt, AIA
Richard Carlos, Assoc. AIA
Bryan Hallowell, AIA
Entry Categories:

Single-Family Residential
Multi-Family Residential
Architect as Client
Renovation, Adaptive Reuse and Preservation
Energy / Sustainability Commercial
Energy / Sustainability Residential
Best Use of Idaho Wood Commercial
Best Use of Idaho Wood Residential
Best Use of Idaho Wood Open

Entry Fee: 
$150 for the 1st project and $100 for each additional project.
No submissions will be accepted after 5PM MST on Friday, August 13, 2021.

Submission Process:

Register and pay the entry fees HERE.
You will receive the confirmation email with the assigned entry (or entries) number(s).
Send your submission to:

The Awards Gala:

The winners will be announced at a ceremony held at the Argyros Performing Arts Center in Ketchum, Idaho on September 24, 2021. The AIA Idaho Design Awards will be held jointly with the AIA Northwest and Pacific Region Awards. The gala tickets will be available on August 1, 2021.


Please make sure to reserve your lodging in advance, as the hotel rooms are expected to sell out. 
Discounted group rates are available for AIA members at the following hotels:

Hotel Ketchum (in Ketchum), Group Name: AIA NW+PR and AIA Idaho or group code NWPC , RESERVATION LINK

Best Western Kentwood Lodge (in Ketchum), Confirmation Number 82398, Group Name AIA Idaho, to reserve please call 208-726-4114

AmericInn (in Hailey) book online directly via this RESERVATION LINK

Please email with any inquiries and regarding sponsorship opportunities.