Monday, April 29, 2019

8:30 AM to 5:00 PM EDT

Add to Calendar



Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center
One Medical Center Drive
Lebanon, NH 03756

Driving Directions 


Charles Brackett, MD
Sanchit Maruti, MD
DATA 2000 Organization:
American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry


Joy Potter
New Hampshire Medical Society

MONDAY   April 29, 2019   

FREE 8-Hour MAT Waiver Course 

The New Hampshire Medical Society, Vermont Medical Society, NH Bureau of Drug and Alcohol Services, Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield and Addiction Technology Transfer Center Network are pleased to offer this FREE buprenorphine waiver training.

  • Training is available for physicians interested in seeking their waiver to prescribe buprenorphine in the treatment of opioid use disorders. To obtain the waiver to prescribe, providers are required to take eight hours of training.
  • Following trainings, physicians who have successfully completed the course, may apply to the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Administration (SAMHSA) to obtain the waiver.
  • 8 AMA PRA Category 1 credits and a Buprenorphine Training Completion Certificate will be awarded to those who complete all 8 hours of the course and receive a minimum cumulative score of 75% on the examination.
  • Residents may take the course and apply for their waiver when they receive their DEA license. They will need to maintain their certificate of completion following the training.
  • Nurse practitioners and physician assistants who take this 8-Hour MAT waiver course will receive a certificate of completion and can apply it toward the 24-hour training requirement established by the Comprehensive Addiction and Recovery Act (CARA). For the addtional 16 hours, PCSS-MAT is also providing NPs and PAs with the coursework FREE and together they meet the required training to be eligible to apply for the waiver to prescribe buprenorphine.

Method of physician participation in the learning process: To be awarded a maximum of 8 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™ and a Buprenorphine Training Completion Certificate you must complete all 8 hours of the course and receive a minimum cumulative score of 75% on the examination.

Those passing the course will be able to complete the waiver application online.

Approved by the NH Board of Medicine as Continuing Medical Education (CME) for the NH Opioid Prescribing Competency Requirement.

CME Accreditation:  This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the accreditation requirements and policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) through the joint providership of the American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry (AAAP)  and the New Hampshire Medical Society, Anthem New Hampshire, and NH Department of Health and Human Services. AAAP is accredited by the ACCME to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

Credit Designation: AAAP designates this live activity for a maximum of 8 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

Communicatoins Access :If accommodations are needed for interpreters, CART (captioning), assistive listening devices, or other auxiliary aids and/or services, please contact Joy Potter at joy.potter@nhms.org or 603-224-1909 by April 19th. At least 5 business days advance notice is requested in order to assure availability; requests made fewer than 5 days prior will attempt to be accommodated but cannot be guaranteed.

Funding for this initiative was made possible by Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) grants through the NH State Opioid Response (SOR - TI081685) and the Providers’ Clinical Support System for Medication Assisted Treatment (PCSS-MAT - TI026556), as well as the Anthem Foundation.
The views expressed in written course materials or publications and by speakers and moderators do not necessarily reflect the official policies of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services; nor does mention of trade names, commercial practices, or organizations imply endorsement by the U.S. Government.